Cinnamon Toast With Rice Bread

June 20, 2009

I have found over the years that most recipes are easily adaptable to being allergy friendly so long as you don’t expect it to be exactly the same. For example there are some Vegan cheeses that are free of milk and casein that aren’t terrible but they are never going to exactly duplicate a soft Cotswold or have the exact flavor of cheddar.

The lack of wheat, eggs and milk makes baking difficult and the variety of dessert is unfortunately limited in the kid’s diets but we get around it. When I was pregnant with my daughter I used to love eating cinnamon toast. A slice of bread, a generous amount of butter, sugar and cinnamon broiled for a few minutes and you are left with a seriously yummy treat. I have tried this in a wheat, eggs and milk free way and its actually delicious!

Ingredients:

1 slice of rice bread of choice (these slices are usually hard but soften up nicely when warmed/toasted)

1 tablespoon of sugar

Nucoa (or other dairy free margarine)

cinnamon to taste

Directions:

Generously “butter” your bread. I put on an unhealthy slab of it so it gets good a buttery but I will lightly butter it for the kids! Then sprinkle the sugar on top and add cinnamon to taste. Put it in the over and broil for approximately 3 minutes or until the sugar caramelizes.

You really can’t make a bad batch of this so long as you don’t burn it! Sometimes I add less margarine and more sugar. Sometimes no cinnamon. I often top this with whatever Jam I have in the fridge with sliced bananas. This has become a new favorite in our house for breakfast with a mountain of fruit on top of it. Its easier for me to make than a batch of pancakes from scratch!

Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Cinnamon Toast With Rice Bread”

  1. Helene Says:

    You have a wonderful blog here! I loved your post about gardening and the one about strawberries! We just did our first veggie garden this year and it was amazing for all of us to start the plants from seeds and see where they are today. Yesterday we picked 3 zucchinis and a bunch of green beans…my kids get so excited everytime we find something new has grown! Our first few strawberries were also very small and runty but the kids ate them anyway and they actually were very sweet. We’re just now starting to get regular sized strawberries!

    Anyway, I subscribed to your blog through MBC!

    • littlepeachlings Says:

      Thank you for the compliment on my blog! Gardening with kids is a lot more fun to me than going to Disneyland… and I genuinely mean that! The excitement they have over foods that could have made them recoil otherwise is really special. I don’t know why my strawberries have started out so runty but they are starting to really thrive! I’m hoping to put in raised beds next year to improve my soil conditions and have the garden be at eye level for the kids! Anyway, thank you for stopping by! I hope your garden continues to thrive!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

